Niko Kari’s first day of testing Trident’s GP3/16 machinery ended with the Finn topping the timesheets in Abu Dhabi, as the final sessions with the car began before FIA Formula 3’s introduction.

Kari set a time of 1m53.890s in the afternoon of the first of three post-season sessions to finish 0.571s clear of MP Motorsport’s Jehan Daruvala on his return to third-tier machinery after racing with the Dutch outfit in F2.

Daruvala previously went quickest in the morning with a 1m54.737s lap, with Kari in third, but all-but three drivers improved their efforts later in the day.

Sebastian Fernandez finished third for Campos, with Devlin DeFrancesco fourth above David Beckmann.

Japanese F4 title-winner Yuki Tsunoda made his debut ahead of a 2019 FIA F3 seat with Jenzer with sixth, with British F3 champion Linus Lundqvist seventh and Jannes Fittje eighth.

Logan Sargeant and Oscar Piastri completed the top 10.

Euroformula Open champion Felipe Drugovich was 11th for ART, with Formula Renault Eurocup title-winner Max Fewtrell 13th in the second session.

Charouz completed its first laps in testing ahead of its third section of F1 motorsport ladder move, having an operation run by departing Arden, with Fabio Scherer 17th, Marcus Armstrong 19th and Lirim Zendeli 20th.

Day two of testing will involve European F3 race-winner Enaam Ahmed replacing Beckmann at ART, while Federico Malvestiti takes part with Jenzer.

Lorenzo Colombo and Yifei Ye, and Ferrari junior Robert Schwartzman, will also make their testing debuts, with the duo at MP and the latter at Charouz.

Overall times:

Pos. Driver Team Morning Laps Afternoon Laps
1 Niko Kari Trident 1m55.174s 18 1m53.890s 18
2 Jehan Daruvala MP 1m54.737s 20 1m54.461s 34
3 Sebastian Fernandez Campos 1m55.730s 27 1m54.708s 28
4 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1m55.087s 25 1m54.897s 21
5 David Beckmann ART 1m55.501s 25 1m54.957s 30
6 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer 1m55.357s 34 1m55.043s 29
7 Linus Lundqvist MP 1m56.194s 29 1m55.070s 29
8 Jannes Fittje Jenzer 1m55.679s 31 1m55.305s 31
9 Logan Sargeant MP 1m55.684s 22 1m55.342s 34
10 Oscar Piastri Trident 1m55.702s 27 1m55.355s 29
11 Felipe Drugovich ART 1m55.574s 25 1m55.379s 28
12 Christian Lundgaard ART 1m55.479s 26 1m55.702s 30
13 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m56.409s 32 1m55.492s 28
14 Max Fewtrell ART 1m55.630s 26 1m55.573s 30
15 Bent Viscaal MP 1m56.352s 25 1m55.616s 35
16 Ben Hingeley Jenzer 1m55.702s 34 1m55.617s 28
17 Fabio Scherer Charouz 1m56.636s 31 1m55.929s 30
18 Alex Peroni Campos 1m55.936s 29 1m56.092s 31
19 Marcus Armstrong Charouz 1m56.269s 27 1m56.123s 34
20 Lirim Zendeli Charouz 1m56.207s 33 1m56.408s 33