2017 Moto3 world champion Joan Mir cruised to his 10th win of the season after a brief battle with Jorge Martin and Enea Bastianini.

Martin cleared off at the start from the front row, the Gresini rider putting a second of daylight between himself Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Bo Bendsneyder by the end of the first lap, while pole man Mir moved into second at the first corner on the following tour.

Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images Sport

Mir was able to keep the group battling for the podium at bay, but Martin continued to extend his advantage to almost two seconds after five laps of racing.

However, Martin’s pace soon started to drop, and Mir steadily reeled in the Spaniard. By lap nine, Mir had completely decimated Martin’s lead and eased ahead of him at Turn 9.

Martin tucked in behind the world champion for the next handful of laps, while Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda’s Bastianini closed down the duo by lap 11.

A mistake at the end of that lap from Mir allowed Martin to hit the front again, though only briefly as Bastianini and Mir slipstreamed him into the first corner. Martin took the lead again with five laps to go, but once more could not hold onto it, with Mir getting ahead with three to go.

Bastianini‘s charge for a first victory in 12 months was ended when he was forced off track by Martin at the exit of Turn 4, while Mir put seven tenths between himself and the Gresini rider.

Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images Sport

Mir came under no threat on the run to the line to ease to the win, while Martin pipped Bastianini at the fianl corner and kept him at bay on the drag to the line by just 0.039 seconds to secure his seventh podium of the season.

Livio Loi brought the second Leopard bike home in fourth ahead of John McPhee, who recovered from an off-track excursion at the final corner on lap nine courtesy of a crash for Niccolo Antonelli to prevail in a tight battle to complete the top five.

Andrea Migno took the chequered flag in sixth, 0.039s behind McPhee, while Fenati – who locked down second in the standings – was seventh ahead of Aron Canet, Fabio Di Giannantonio and Bendsneyder. Migno‘s Sky VR46 team-mate Niclol Bulega was forced to park up in the closing stages with a mechanical issue.

Home favourite Adam Norrodin ran inside the top five for the first 10 laps, but crashed at the first corner on lap 11. Unscathed, the SIC Racing rider was able to remount and cross the line 11th ahead of team-mate Ayumu Sasaki.

Juanfran Guevara and RBA team-mate Gabriel Rodrigo headed Manuel Pagliani to complete the the points paying positions, while Malaysian wildcard Kasma Kasmayudin crashed on the final lap.