Albert Arenas has taken his first Moto3 win at Le Mans after Fabio Di Giannantonio was given a time penalty.

The Spaniard inherited the win, after the Italian was given a three second penalty.

This followed a last lap incident involving Jorge Martin, and Marco Bezzecchi. Bezzecchi would still lead the World Championship at the end of the race, but would not finish.

Arenas took the win ahead of teammate Andrea Migno and Marcos Ramirez.

Di Giannantonio would finish fourth, ahead of Nicolo Antonelli and Jakub Kornfeil. The Czech rider produced some dramatic action to avoid a crash, almost jumping over the falling Enea Bastianini, who would not finish the race.

Toby Arbolino wasn’t seventh, with Aron Canet eighth. Tatsuki Suzuki was ninth, with Jaume Masia tenth.

The Moto3 world championship returns in two weeks at Mugello, where the Italian riders will be looking to perform in front of a fanatical home crowd.