Pole man Sheridan Morais was declared the winner of the German World Supersport round after the race was halted on lap 18 due to a collision between GRT Yamaha duo Federico Caricasulo and Lucas Mahias.

Kallio Racing’s Morais made the most of his pole position and took the holeshot into the first corner ahead of Federico Caricasulo, Jules Cluzel, Lucas Mahias and Kenan Sofuoglu.

Mahias and Sofuolu diced hard over fourth spot on the opening lap, the French rider finally making a move stick into Turn 10 on the fourth lap.

Championship leader Mahias closed down compatriot Cluzel over the following tour and carved past him into Turn 10 to take third.

Mahias undone all of his good work on lap nine when he ran too hot into Turn 6 and dropped to fifth, while Sofuoglu made his way through on Cluzel at the start of lap 15 after a failed attempt on the previous tour

At the front, Morais’ time in the lead came to an end when Caricasulo, Sofuoglu and Mahias moved ahead on lap 17.

At the start of lap 18, Sofuoglu went for a move on Caricasulo for the lead into the first corner, the Italian not giving up the position so easily and hanging it around the outside of the Puccetti Kawasaki rider at Turn 2.

However, Caricasulo lost the front-end of his Yamaha and slid across the grass into the path of GRT team-mate Mahias.

The red flag was flown as Caricasulo was attended to trackside by the medical team, with the result declared from the previous lap, which handed Morais an historic maiden win for South Africa in WorldSSP.

Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images Sport

Sofuoglu was classified second, while Mahias was awarded third as he was able to rejoin the race just before it was stopped, which sees him retain the championship lead by just one point over the Turkish rider.

Cluzel was a disgruntled fourth in the end having been promoted to the rostrum at the time of the crash, with Niki Tuuli making his way back from ninth on the grid following a penalty to complete the top five.

Lorenzo Zanetti ended his first WorldSSP race for the Vamag MV Agusta team in sixth ahead of Kyle Smith and Anthony West, while wildcard Thomas Gradinger impressed in ninth. Luke Stapleford rounded out the top 10.

Chris Bergman took his PTR Honda to 11th, with Christian Gamarino, Hannes Soomer, Alessandro Zaccone and Michael Canducci the last of the points finishers.

PJ Jacobsen’s nightmare weekend ended with a retirement on lap 16. The MV Agusta rider joined Gino Rea, Alex Baldolini, Marc Buchner and Rob Hartog on the sidelines, while Caricasulo was taken to the medical centre for further treatment.