Robert Shwartzman claimed a dominant lights-to-flag victory in the final European Formula 3 race of the season as Dan Ticktum secured second in the championship order.

Juri Vips looked set to jump the Red Bull junior in the championship standings, starting third whilst Ticktum lined up 10th on the grid. He started the race challenging champion elect Mick Schumacher for second before Ralf Aron made contact with the back of the Motopark run car as the field bunched together at turn 6. Vips was sent into a spin as Sacha Fenestraz ran onto the back of Aron, damaging both cars, but everyone was able to continue.

Vips dropped to the back of the field and spent the rest of the race having to climb back into the points paying positions. In the closing stages of the race, he passed Sophia Florsch for P10, but the Van Amersfoort driver fought back to reclaim the position a handful of corners later. Vips pushed hard, managing to pass Florsch again, this time keeping her behind him to take the final points paying position.

With Ticktum enjoying a quiet race to finish fifth, Vip’s 10th wasn’t enough to pass the Motopark driver for the vice-champion title, and he dropped back to fourth in the championship standings as Shwartzman’s second victory of the season put the Prema driver third in the points order.

Alex Palou was promoted to third after the turn 6 incident. He kept the pressure on Schumacher in the first half of the race, forcing Schumacher to defend the position on more than one occasion. But he began to fall away as he turned to defending his own position from Aron in fourth.

The Hitech driver held onto third to take his best finish of the weekend.

Jehan Daruvala spent the first part of the race running fifth and was closing the gap to Palou and Aron when he ran wide at the first corner. He managed to keep control of his car but couldn’t stop it running over the rumble strips and gravel. As he returned to the track it was clear there was damage to the under side of his Carlin run machine and he crawled around the circuit to return to the pits where he retired.

Guanyu Zhou passed Jonathan Aberdein to take sixth, with Ferdinand Habsburg following him through soon after. Aberdein had to settle for eight, ahead of Enaam Ahmed and Vips.