Carlin joins Prema Powerteam as a five-car entry in this year’s European Formula 3 championship.

The British team has added Euroformula Open runner up Nikita Troitskiy to its line-up for the upcoming season.

He joins Sacha Fenestraz, Devlin DeFrancesco, and second year drivers Jehan Daruvala and Ferdinand Habsburg at the team.

“It’s nice to be part of such a strong team as Carlin for the 2018 season,” Troitskiy said. “The team all work together and do their job perfectly well, so I look forward to joining them.

“I will do my best to show the highest result in 2018.”

Troitskiy took nine podiums and two pole positions on his way to second in the Euroformula Open championship last season.

“It is with great pleasure that we welcome Nikita to our team,” said racing director Trevor Carlin.

“Nikita is a driver who we have competed against in the past and watched with interest in championships he has raced in.

“He is a very dedicated and determined driver and will be a fantastic addition to our FIA Formula 3 European team. We have another great line-up ahead of the 2018 season, so we’re looking forward to the season beginning at Pau in May.”

Carlin has previously run as many as six full time drivers in the championship, but teams were restricted to just four full time drivers in 2017. This rule has been relaxed for the upcoming season.

Prema will also run five drivers, with Mick Schumacher being confirmed for a second season in the championship.