George Russell secured the 2018 Formula 2 championship with victory in the feature race at the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi.

Russell lost the lead to Nyck de Vries early on thanks to a sub-par start, shortly before the race was halted under safety car conditions following a frightening start line accident.

Several cars, including title contender Alexander Albon and team-mate Nicholas Latifi, stalled as they went to pull away for the race start, leaving them stranded on the grid.

Arjun Maini then careered into the back of Latifi’s DAMS, leaving debris strewn across the circuit.

Both drivers were unhurt and the race restarted on the seventh lap, de Vries holding onto the lead ahead of Russell heading into the first pit-stops.

Russell pitted first ahead of de Vries as the Brit attempted the undercut, while the Prema driver came in the following time around.

De Vries re-joined in the race lead but on warmer tyres, Russell was able to immediately dive up the inside of Turn 3 to snatch the lead away from de Vries, pulling away shortly after.

The newly-crowned champion thereafter had an uneventful race to match Stoffel Vandoorne’s win record, despite a resurgent Markelov doing his best to hunt down the ART driver.

Luca Ghiotto rounded off a podium positions following a stunning race from the Italian that saw him lead most of the race on the soft tyres he had started the race on.

He pitted with just a few laps remaining to fit the supersoft rubber and fell to fifth, although he was quickly able to dispatch Lando Norris and de Vries to take third.

Behind Norris came Louis Deletraz and Charouz team-mate Antonio Fuoco, while Roberto Mehri scored solid points for Campos in eighth.

Tadasuke Makino and Jack Aitken rounded out the points scorers for Russian Time and ART respectively.

Dan Ticktum finished a strong 11th in what was the Red Bull juniors F2 debut, while Albon could only salvage 14th following his start-line stall.