Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne has won the final race of the 2018 Formula E season, rounding off an E-Prix double-header in New York City.

The Frenchman had an inch-perfect start which allowed him to rise from third to first before Turn 1 which ultimately was the race winning move. Both Vergne and team-mate Andre Lotterer had fast getaways, however, Lotterer was deemed to have jumped the start and so fell from second to ninth.

As a result of Lotterer’s misfortune, Audi was able to capitalise and take the teams’ championship following a tense finale. Lucas di Grassi finished in second while Daniel Abt came home in third to round off Audi’s late-season recovery.

Abt was able to hold position while facing intense pressure from polesitter Sebastien Buemi. Buemi once again was unable to finish in first and ultimately slipped to fourth. The season two champion traded places multiple times with Abt but wasn’t able to definitively pass the German.

Felix Rosenqvist edged out Mitch Evans of Jaguar to come home in fifth after a tight race-long battle. Nelson Piquet Jr finished in seventh which tied together with Evans’s sixth represents a comeback for Jaguar after a disastrous Saturday. Rosenqvist’s team-mate Nick Heidfeld finished in eighth.

Sam Bird of DS Virgin Racing struggled to 10th. His team-mate Alex Lynn crossed the line last of the classified runners to round off a disappointing weekend for the team.

Both Dragon cars had eventful races with both cars crashing out. Jose Maria Lopez made contact with the wall on lap 6 while Jerome d’Ambrosio collided with Luca Filippi of NIO on the lap after. Tom Dillmann retired with a mechanical failure along with Maro Engel and Antonio Felix Da Costa.