Mitch Evans has claimed his and Jaguar’s maiden Formula E pole position in qualifying for the Zurich E-Prix, as championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne had a “nightmare”.

The New Zealander, who had not been outside of the top two in either practice session, topped both normal qualifying and superpole.

His first effort put him nearly three tenths clear to get into the final session before setting a slower 1m12.811s to beat Andre Lotterer by 0.137 seconds.

Lotterer’s team-mate Vergne said in the post-lap interview after the first group of cars posted their attempts that he had a “nightmare lap”, and that he may even start last, before falling to 17th.

No damage has been had to Vergne’s 40-point championship lead, though, as Sam Bird qualified third after brushing the wall with the left-hand side of his DS Virgin machine at the chicane on his effort.

Both Dragon drivers Jerome d’Ambrosio and Jose Maria Lopez lost time in superpole compared to their opening laps to finish fourth and fifth.

Lopez dropped time in the first sector after narrowly missing the wall after a slide through the Turn 1 right-hander, while d’Ambrosio lost time in the final sector to his rivals above.

Lucas di Grassi narrowly missed out on the top five, and as a result, can no longer win this season’s championship after missing the three points for pole.

The Brazilian remains 86 points behind Vergne, but just 84 points remain in the campaign.

Sebastien Buemi was seventh above Renault e.dams team-mate Nico Prost.

Daniel Abt and Felix Rosenqvist completed the top 10.

NIO’s Oliver Turvey ended in 20th after making contact with the wall at Turn 2 with his right-rear tyre, stating that he had bent the trackrod in a post-lap interview.

Pos. Driver Team Time Superpole Time
1 Mitch Evans Jaguar 1m12.594s 1m12.811s
2 Andre Lotterer Techeetah 1m12.906s 1m12.948s
3 Sam Bird DS Virgin 1m12.981s 1m13.022s
4 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon 1m12.857s 1m13.096s
5 Jose Maria Lopez Dragon 1m12.877s 1m13.927s
6 Lucas di Grassi Audi 1m13.042s
7 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.dams 1m13.061s
8 Nico Prost Renault e.dams 1m13.084s
9 Daniel Abt Audi 1m13.107s
10 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra 1m13.214s
11 Nelson Piquet Jr Jaguar 1m13.380s
12 Alex Lynn DS Virgin 1m13.393s
13 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra 1m13.405s
14 Edoardo Mortara Venturi 1m13.413s
15 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti 1m13.422s
16 Stephane Sarrazin Andretti 1m13.500s
17 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 1m13.524s
18 Maro Engel Venturi 1m13.541s
19 Luca Filippi NIO 1m14.067s
20 Oliver Turvey NIO 1m14.139s