MotoGP 2016 was always going to be a tough act to follow. Nine riders took to the top step of the podium, eight of those coming one after the other – the first time in history that has happened. Satellite riders won races for the first time since 2006, and Britain welcomed its first grand prix winner in 35 years courtesy of Cal Crutchlow.

Yamaha, Honda, Ducati and Suzuki welcomed winners trophies into their cabinets, while the racing proved just as dramatic and as nail-biting as it ever has been.

Though we may not have had nine winners in 2017, what we did get was arguably the greatest season in motorcycle grand prix racing’s near 70-year history, with twists and turns throughout, new faces making their mark and old ones defying the odds.

While the eventual outcome of Marc Marquez winning the title was no surprise on paper, his journey to his sixth world championship across all three classes was one fraught with may hurdles – on track and off it.

With the sun setting on 2017, Read Motorsport brings you its list of the top 10 riders of an incredible year of MotoGP.

Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images Sport Start slideshow