NIO Formula E has announced that Luca Filippi will be joining the team for the 2017/18 Formula E season, with Oliver Turvey also being retained.

Filippi will take over Nelson Piquet Jr’s spot in the team, with the Brazilian having decided to make the move to Jaguar.

The Italian has previously finished on the podium during the 2015 IndyCar season while in 2011 was beaten to the GP2 title by Romain Grosjean.

“Season 4 sees us welcome Luca Filippi on-board with the NIO Formula E Team,” team principal Gérry Hughes states, “and I firmly believe that these two drivers will form a formidable driver pairing for the coming season.

“Whilst Luca is new to the series he brings with him a wealth of motorsport experience which our young dynamic team will be looking to exploit.”

Handout/Getty Images Sport

Having joined Formula E before the start of the 2015/16 season after a successful London ePrix outing, Turvey will take part in his third FE season with the team.

Turvey achieved six points scoring finishes last season, narrowly being beaten by his team-mate Piquet by seven points in the drivers’ championship. He is very happy to be back in FE for the upcoming season.

“I believe we have grown together over the last two seasons and we have been able to make some good progress together.

“The whole NIO team has been working extremely hard on the new Season 4 car and in the development testing I have felt some positive changes in the chassis and powertrain.”

The team will take part in the pre-season test in Valencia this week ahead of the Hong Kong ePrix on Dec 2.