Porsche LMP racer Neel Jani will make his Formula E debut with Faraday Future Dragon Racing next season.

Jani will join Jerome D’Ambrosio at the American team for the fourth season of the championship. It’s the first time since season one that Dragon Racing has changed its main driver line-up.

Jani started his career in single seaters, racing in the A1 Grand Prix and GP2. He then switched to sports cars, competing with Rebellion Racing and Porsche in the World Endurance Championship.

He won the Le Mans 24 Hours and WEC title with Porsche last year. This season, he and team-mates Nick Tandy and Andre Lottierer are currently fourth in the championship.

Jani has already begun testing ahead of his FE debut in September.

“As a team, we have set our target of winning races and competing for the championship in the coming season, and Neel was an essential component of that equation,” said team owner Jay Penske.

“When you look at the best drivers in the world, from both a racing and car development perspective, Neel is at the top of the list. He’s an excellent fit within our programme.”

Dragon Racing has taken two FE victories and eight podiums, but couldn’t break into the top three at all last season.

Jani replaces Loic Duval, who juggled DTM commitments with FE last year. It’s not known if he’ll continue in the series with another team next year.