Kamui Koboyashi and Jose Maria Lopez earned the #7 Toyota Gazoo Racing’s first pole of the season ahead of the 6 Hours of Fuji.

The car spent most of the session running second quickest behind the sister #8 Toyota, driven by Fernando Alonso and Sebastien Buemi.

But the #8 car was denied its fourth consecutive pole position when Buemi’s quickest lap time was deleted late in the session. He was able to set another lap, but it was almost 0.9s slower than Alonso’s quickest time. The pair’s average time put the car P2, just 0.091s off the #7’s time.

Neel Jani and Andre Lotterer put the #1 Rebellion Racing P3 on the grid, the fastest of the non-hybrid cars and 0.802s slower than the pole sitting Toyota.

Thomas Laurent in the second of the two Rebellion cars suffered a half spin at turn three in the closing stages of the session. He was quickly able to get the #3 car out of the way and returned to the pits. Along with Gustavo Menezes, he put the car fourth on the grid, ahead of the SMP Racing duo.

The #17 SMP Racing car (driven by Egor Orudzhev and Stephane Sarrazin) took P5, alongside the #11 car (driven by Jenson Button and Vitaly Petrov).

The #10 DragonSpeed, driven by LMP1 newcomer James Allen and Ben Hanley completed the class order.

DragonSpeed topped the LMP2 order, with Anthony Davidson and Roberto Gonzalez putting the #31 car 11th overall.

The Jackie Chan DC Racing pair took second and third in class, with the #37 car ahead of the #38.

Aston Martin Racing topped the order in the GTE-Pro class. Marco Sorensen and Nicki Thiim topped the class in the #95 car, going 0.182s quicker than the #82 BMW of Antonio Felix da Costa and Tom Blombqvist. Alex Lynn and Maxime Martin in the sister Aston Martin Racing managed to put the car P3 late in the session.

The #88 Dempsy-Proton Racing car topped the GTE-Am class, ahead of the #98 Aston Martin Racing and #77 Dempsy-Proton Racing.