China will make a return to the Formula E calendar next season with a race in Sanya, a city located on Hainan Island in the south of the country.

Beijing held the season opener for the first two seasons of FE, and thus the first ever FE race, with Hong Kong replacing it for the last two seasons. Hong Kong is an autonomous territory that has a level of political independence from the People’s Republic of China.

In the championship’s two visits to Beijing, Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi were the winners.

The Sanya E-Prix will be the sixth race of the 2018-19 season on March 23 2019, filling one of the two vacant slots on the calendar. The third race of the season, set to take place on January 26 2019, remains unannounced.

“Bringing the ABB FIA Formula E Championship back to mainland China is an important step in a key territory for the series and a market that’s instrumental to the continued development and uptake of electric vehicles globally,” said Alejandro Agag, CEO of FE.

“Sanya is an idyllic setting for a Formula E race – not just with the stunning views on the shores of the South China Sea – but for the ongoing efforts of Hainan in the field of electric mobility, which has led to Sanya boasting the best air quality of any city in China.”

A track layout is yet to be released, and the race remains provisional until it has been approved by the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council.