Sebastien Ogier has taken World Rally Championship victory in the 2018 Monte-Carlo Rally, with almost a minute back to 2017 M-Sport team-mate Ott Tanak in second place.

Ogier began Sunday with a 33-second lead over the Estonian after Tanak’s run of stage wins on Saturday and managed to extend the gap over the four stages.

Despite ending up in a ditch on Friday, the Frenchman’s fifth victory at the event seemed inevitable, even taking into account the unpredictable conditions.

It was a bittersweet final stage for Toyota, with Jari-Matti Latvala joining team-mate Tanak on the podium, but Esapekka Lappi dropped three places down to seventh after going off and struggling to get the car into reverse.

Lappi had borne the brunt of Toyota’s bad luck and was already enacting a recovery drive after Saturday’s puncture.

Fourth-placed Kris Meeke was fastest on the power stage, beating his time from the running of the stage earlier in the day by almost 30 seconds.

The results hide the difficulty of the rally for the Citroen driver, who was never comfortable out on the stages and hit trouble in the tricky conditions of Thursday evening.

Another victim of Thursday’s evening stages, Thierry Neuville recovered his way up to sixth, stealing the place from Elfyn Evans on the final stage of the rally.

M-Sport third entrant Bryan Bouffier finished eighth, despite an off in the slippery penultimate stage before completing the power stage without first gear.

Craig Breen and Jan Kopecky completed the top ten, with Breen suffering early on from gravel getting caught in his brakes.

Kopecky took WRC2 victory, benefiting from the misfortune of rivals Teemu Suninen and Eric Camilli.