Lucas di Grassi set the fastest time in the second free practice session ahead of the Mexico City ePrix, narrowly beating Felix Rosenqvist.

Di Grassi set the early pace, putting in a 1m03.493s lap, bringing him to the top of the timesheets, but it wasn’t to last very long, with Buemi knocking the reigning champion down to P2, before Abt and Rosenqvist went even faster, with the Swede setting a 1m01.442s lap that was the last for half the session.

Nick Heidfeld was on a quick lap, setting a purple first sector, but a mistake in the stadium section cost him dearly, as he could only manage to go 0.082s slower than his Mahindra team-mate Rosenqvist in P1.

Jose Maria Lopez found himself pushing a little too hard as he approached the stadium section, scraping the barrier and causing enough damage to warrant a return to the pits for a car change.

Edoardo Mortara brought out the yellow flags on the exit of turn 1, as his Dragon ground to a halt just before the breaking zone for turn 2.

Di Grassi set the fastest lap of the session with 16 minutes remaining in the session, setting a 1m01.203s lap, putting him in P1, less than three-tenths of a second ahead of Rosenqvist, and he would remain there for the remainder of the session.

Heidfeld had another off-track incident in the stadium section, only this time, he got far closer to the barriers than he would have wanted, forcing him to abandon his lap.

Alex Lynn put his car in the barrier at Turn 2, bringing out the red flag. The DS Virgin driver had to take avoiding action on the exit of Turn 2, having failed to spot Rosenqvist, which resulted in him losing the back end of the car, resulting in him ploughing straight into the wall.

The red flag only lasted for three minutes, with the session going green for the final two minutes of the session. Most of the cars came out for one final lap, but in the end, almost no one could improve on their previous time.

Mitch Evans was less than a tenth shy of Rosenqvist in P3, with Heidfeld and Lynn rounding out the top five.

Qualifying for the Mexico City ePrix gets underway at 6pm GMT.