Jean-Eric Vergne topped the second free practice session of the Santiago ePrix, ahead of Jaguar’s Mitch Evans and Virgin’s Alex Lynn.

The session got underway at 10:30am local time, with most cars taking to the track early to get some banker laps in. Both Renault eDams cars were the first out on track, as Sebastien Buemi set the benchmark with a 1m30.653s, though he backed off towards the end of the lap.

Within five minutes, Sam Bird had beaten the former world champion’s time, only to have his own time beaten by Mitch Evans mere seconds later. Evans was to suffer the same fate as Bird, as the other Virgin of Alex Lynn ended Evans’ short stay at the top, setting a 1m18.692s lap that remained the fastest for most of the session.

Nelson Piquet went off at Turn 3 10 minutes into the session, but was able to control the car and bring it to a halt before it could make any contact with the barrier and was able to carry on.

Jose Maria Lopez found himself a little too close to the barriers at one point, with his Dragon car making contact on the exit of a corner, forcing him to slow. Lopez was plagued with radio problems throughout the session, resulting in him missing the call to pit, and having to awkwardly manoeuvre his way back into the pit lane.

Championship leader Felix Rosenqvist didn’t get much running done in the session, only getting to push in the final five minutes of the session. However a lock-up in the first sector did him no favours. Despite this, he was just two tenths of a second down on Lynn’s time at the first interval, and maintained this pace to put his Mahindra P4, just 0.270s slower than Lynn.

It wasn’t until the final two minutes of the session that Lynn was knocked off the top spot, with Vergne setting a 1m18.662s time, only three hundredths faster than Lynn.

No one was able to challenge Vergne’s time in the end, as Nico Prost had a crash at turn 9, putting his Renault eDams car in the barrier, and bringing out the red flag to end the session.

The final classifications were incredibly close in the end, with the top twelve drivers separated by 0.752s and the entire field having just 1.639s between them. In the end, it was Jean-Eric Vergne who topped the timesheets, with Alex Lynn in second, Mitch Evans in third, and Nick Heidfeld and Felix Rosenqvist rounding out the top five.